christianity

I am a Christian, I think. I believe in a God of love. I believe in a God who chides us when we deviate from who we should be, points out our sins one way or another and allows us to do penance, but still love us when we fail. I believe His son Jesus came to us to try to put the Jews back on track. Somehow it had all got screwed up and the message was all fucked up. What was the message? That to attain heaven all we had to do was love others as ourselves (in other words treat everyone as we wanted to be treated) and to love Him above all else. So simple. No hatred for gays, no disgust for fat people, no abhorrence for the weak. The Jews didn’t grasp it and when Jesus died a new branch began calling themselves Christians. And what did they do? They immediately changed portions of the message. You must strive to become like Jesus. Surely an impossibility since He was the son of God, yet we must strive and in doing so, constantly fail, loose heart and eventually quit. Only those so pompous they decide in their own minds they have the right to preach, not share thoughts equally, but PREACH that this is how you shall act and this is what you shall do. We have come to Peter. Peter, who was either A-sexual or homosexual, preached how women were lower than men and should know their place. Women were temptresses, whores, evil sluts who led men astray. That’s not Christianity. It is nothing Jesus ever said or taught. He in fact tells Martha to leave her cooking and come listen to him as her sister Mary is doing. Earliest Christians held many services in the homes of women and there is even evidence that some women led them. Only when Paul brings all his shit into Christianity does women become subservient to men in this new religion. And lust. If Paul had his way, Christianity would’ve died early on because any sex or procreation was a sin. Catholics to this day believe a child is born in sin and must be baptized immediately if its survival is in doubt or the child will go to hell. What kind of fucking loving God is that? Human beings cannot allow any religion that doesn’t judge, condemn or generally make us all these wretched bags of flesh. Now we get to why I said I’m a Christian, I think. I believe in God and Jesus, but I believe in love. I believe we should treat everyone with respect and realize none of us is perfect, but love ourselves and humanity anyway. And I fail to understand where hair shirts, flogging, castration, burning at stakes, abuse, hatred, fear and violence in a religion based on love could ever come about. Time for a new Christianity.

About moonvapors

I love music. My favorite band is Sunrise Avenue, but I really like all kinds of music from Vampire Metal to classical. I live in the midwest of the US with my one eyed cat, Blinky and my Chihuahua Mr Mosie . I love the rain and snow, flowers, wind in the trees, the rustle of corn in the summer and the crunch of leaves underfoot in the fall. I write poetry and dream of a better world, a new world order where people mattered instead of money. I think my biggest regret is not traveling the world when I was young. Oh well, maybe in my next life, huh?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

